top of page
  • Jessica White

6 Do's and Don'ts in Victoria Falls

Updated: Mar 30, 2019

The moment I stepped off the air-conditioned plane, the Victoria Falls heat wrapped itself around me like a heavy hug from a long lost friend. A smile broke across my face and I felt my muscles instantly relax- after another whirlwind semester at University, I was finally home. As much as I miss Vic Falls when I am away, coming back always gives me a new perspective of my time there, and I cherish those days. So, I have boiled it down to 6 ‘Do’s and Dont’s’ for first time travellers so that your visit is as seamless and special as possible.



1). Do eat a Mopani Worm at the Boma

No, the heat hasn’t completely scorched my mind- you did just read ‘worm’. It may sound bizarre (and trust me, it feels bizarre too) but what a fun experience and an even more fun conversation starter!

Crunchy on the outside, soft in the middle, the texture resembles a fried chip, but it tastes a bit like burnt chicken skin. Don’t knock it until you have tried it!


2). Don’t forget your camera cover when you go to the rainforest

I learnt this lesson the hard way. During high water, you are engulfed by a plume of mist and utterly drenched the moment you venture under the canopy of rainforest trees. But don’t let yourself be lulled into a false sense of security during low water, because even then the massive cascade of water will send a sudden surge of vapour onto bystanders, and you don’t want to be caught with your lens out like I was!





**Pro tip- Go to the rainforest during the afternoon when it is less crowded, and the magnificent colours of the rainbows are made even more vivid under the blazing sun.


4). Don’t schedule your time too rigidly

It is easy to underestimate how much there is to do in Victoria Falls. If you enjoy spontaneity as much as I do, make sure that you have cleared some time in your itinerary for the unexpected adventures that pop up, like a leisurely lunch at the Lookout Café after a planned gorge swing, or a slow stroll through the famous Shona sculptures in the curio markets dotted around town.





5). Do your research!

Your most crucial informant when planning a trip to Victoria Falls is the Zambezi River, as the varying water levels dictate what activities are open. I have been rafting twice, once during high water and once in the low water season. While both were amazing, the sheer volume of water in the river corridor during high season mellowed the rapids out, and so this trip did not reach the same heights on my thrill-meter as the intense low water expedition. If you go when the water levels are very high, then you may find that the rapids are actually closed. However, other activities, such as the helicopter flight and the high wire activities are enhanced by high water because that incredible backdrop created by the cloud of mist.

6). Do book online

I have booked when I am in Vic Falls, and I have booked online, and the latter option is hands down the easiest, most reliable way to go. For starters, you get some awesome discounts and you can safely pay for activities without hard cash- there are limited ATMs around and it is not easy to withdraw USD. The online shop ensures that you have correct insurance and as soon as I did my bookings I could start getting psyched for all the adventures I had lined up! I took leisurely scroll through the online shop and tailored each trip to suit my personal travel desires, so by the time I landed I was prepared and had saved some serious cash dollar.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page